Luis Díaz was nominated for the Ballon d’Or, which will be awarded in October

Written by ebookingservices

Colombian striker Luis Díaz was included by France Football magazine in the list of 30 nominees for the Ballon d’Or for the 2021/22 season, which began at Porto and has continued successfully at Liverpool, in the Premier League.

This is the second Colombian nominated for the prestigious award, after Radamel Falcao García (2012 and 2013) and James Rodríguez (2014 and 2015). Faustino Asprilla was a candidate for the Best FIFA Player in the 1990s.

After a brilliant year at Atlético de Madrid, the samarian player trained in the Millonarios and River Plate academies finished in fifth place, an achievement he repeated in 2014, the year in which he led the Colombian National Team to its best participation in a World Cup and won the Puskás award for the goal against Uruguay, at the Maracaná.

Nominated for the 2022 Ballon d’Or … ✨🌕

🇨🇴 @LuisFDiaz19@LFC#ballondor

— Ballon d’Or #ballondor (@francefootball) August 12, 2022

25-year-old Diaz He recently added another title with the Red Devils, the Community Shield, after his team beat Manchester City 3-1 in Leicester. He previously won the Carabao Cup and the FA Cup, at the end of the previous season.

The Ballon d’Or award ceremony will take place on Monday, October 17 in Paris, France. Lionel Messi is the player who has received this award the most times (seven), although this time he was not nominated. Next are the Portuguese Cristiano Ronaldo (five); Michel Platini, Johan Cruyff and Marco van Basten with three each.

In addition to the Colombian, the official list of nominees is as follows: Thibaut Courtois, Rafael Leao, Christopher Nkunku, Mohamed Salah, Joshua Kimmich, Tren Alexánder Arnold, Vinicius JR, Bernardo Silva, Robert Lewandowski, Riyad Mahrez, Casemiro, Heung Min Son, Fabinho, Karim Benzema, Mike Maignan, Harry Kane, Darwin Níñez, Phil Foden, Sadio Mané, Sebastien Haller, Luka Modric, Antonio Rudiger, Cristiano Ronaldo, Kevin de Bruyne, Dusan Vlahovic, Virgil van Dijk, Joao Cancelo, Kylian Mbappé and Erling Haland.


About the author


Leave a Comment