U17 Women’s EURO Round 1 Guide 2022/23

Qualifying for the 2022/23 UEFA European Women’s Under-17 Championship kicked off with Round 1, which is played across two leagues between 22 September and 15 November.

League A includes 28 teams, including the seven promoted from League B after Round 2 of the 2021/22 edition this spring. The teams will compete in seven groups. Of these single-venue mini-tournaments, the fourth-placed teams will be relegated to League B for Round 2 in 2022/23, with the remaining positions deciding the top seeds for League A in that round. Estonia will participate, although their place in the final tournament is assured as hosts.

Teams from League B (including those relegated from League A in Round 2 of 2021/22) compete for promotion to League A in six groups. The top six finishers in each group and the second with the best record against the first and third-placed countries in their group will be promoted. Next spring’s League A Round 2 (drawn on December 7) will decide the seven teams that will accompany Estonia to the 2023 finals from May 14-26.


Round 1 groups


Germany 2-2 Spain (3-2 on pens)

Group A1 (October 19–25): Norway, Hungary*, Czech Republic, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Group A2 (22–28 September): Spain*, Greece, Poland, Belgium

Group A3 (October 21–27): Finland, Austria, Republic of Ireland, Northern Ireland*

Group A4 (October 4–10): France, Iceland, Italy*, Switzerland

Group A5 (October 19–25): Germany (holders), Serbia, Slovenia*, Turkey

Group A6 (7–13 October): Denmark, England, Ukraine, Estonia* (final tournament hosts)

Group A7 (19–25 October): Netherlands, Portugal*, Sweden, Scotland


League B groupsUEFA

Group B1 (October 4–10): Belarus, Georgia, Luxembourg*, Armenia

Group B2 (October 18–24): Kosovo, Albania*, North Macedonia, Moldova

Group B3 (November 9–15):Croatia, Bulgaria*, Faroe Islands

Group B4 (October 23–29): Slovakia, Latvia*, Azerbaijan

Group B5 (October 27–November 2): Montenegro, Israel*, Wales

Group B6 (October 5–11): Romania*, Lithuania, Kazakhstan

*Group Hostesses

  • Germany won its eighth title, a competition record, in Bosnia and Herzegovina in May. The other previous winning teams are Spain, runners-up in 2021/22 (four titles), and Poland, champions in 2012/13.
  • Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Estonia, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Switzerland and Turkey promoted from League B in round 2 of 2021/22
  • Belarus, Croatia, Kosovo, Montenegro, Romania and Slovakia were relegated from League A in round 2 of 2021/22

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.