UEFA Coach of the Year nominees: Ancelotti, Guardiola, Klopp | About UEFA

Written by ebookingservices

Carlo Ancelotti, Josep Guardiola and Jürgen Klopp are the three main contenders for the 2021/22 UEFA Coach of the Year award in men’s football.

The winner will be named, along with the UEFA Player of the Year and the Women’s Football Player and Coach of the Year, during the draw ceremony for the 2022/23 UEFA Champions League group stage to be held in Istanbul on Thursday, August 25.

Nominees for UEFA Coach of the Year in men’s football (in alphabetical order)

Carlo Ancelotti (Real Madrid)
The Italian returned to the club last summer and won La Liga before becoming the first manager to win the European Cup/Champions League for the fourth time, after leading Madrid to glory in the 2022 final in Paris.

Josep Guardiola (Manchester City)
The 51-year-old Spanish manager has won four Premier League titles in his last five seasons at City, and his team seemed destined for a second successive Champions League final until a dramatic turnaround in Madrid.

Jurgen Klopp (Liverpool)
The German coach made his team dream of the ‘quadruple’ until the final stretch of the season, in which Liverpool ended up winning the FA Cup and the League Cup in England and was runner-up in the Premier League and the Champions League League.

The rest of the ‘Top 6’
4 Oliver Glasner (Eintracht Frankfurt) – 75 points
5 Unai Emery (Villarreal) – 74 points
6 Jose Mourinho (Rome) – 51 points

What is the UEFA Coach of the Year award in men’s football?

For this award, coaches in Europe, regardless of their nationality, were voted on based on their performances throughout the season in all competitions, both national and international, at both club and national team level.

How were the coaches voted?

UEFA’s technical study group selected an initial list of six coaches.

The list of three finalist candidates was selected by a jury composed of:

• The clubs that participated in the group stage of the 2021/22 UEFA Champions League, UEFA Europa League and UEFA Europa Conference League.

• A group of journalists selected by the European Sports Media (ESM)

The jury members chose their three best coaches, the first receiving five points, the second three and the third one. Coaches couldn’t vote for themselves.

Download the official Champions League app!

The other award nominees

UEFA Player of the Year: Karim Benzema, Thibaut Courtois, Kevin De Bruyne

Last year’s winner

Thomas Tuchel won the 2020/21 UEFA Men’s Coach of the Year award after orchestrating a sensational turnaround at Chelsea. He replaced Frank Lampard on 26 January and led the west London side to their second Champions League title, becoming the first manager to reach successive finals with different clubs having been runners-up with Paris in 2019/20. .

About the author


Leave a Comment