UEFA Player of the Year nominees: Benzema, Courtois, De Bruyne | About UEFA

Written by ebookingservices

Karim Benzema, Thibaut Courtois and Kevin De Bruyne are the top three nominees for the 2021/22 UEFA Player of the Year award.

The winner will be named, along with the UEFA Men’s Coach of the Year, the UEFA Women’s Player of the Year and the UEFA Women’s Coach of the Year, during the phase draw ceremony. UEFA Champions League 2022/23 group match in Istanbul on Thursday 25 August.

UEFA Player of the Year nominees (in alphabetical order)

Karim Benzema (Real Madrid and France)
The French striker was named the 2021/22 UEFA Champions League Player of the Season after leading Real Madrid to their 14th European Cup title, the fifth since joining from Lyon in 2009. With his 15 goals led the competition’s scorers table.

Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid and Belgium)
The goalkeeper, who won the Spanish League with Real Madrid, was the Man of the Match in the Champions League final after making several worthwhile saves that denied Liverpool the title in Paris, especially those made to Sadio Mané and Mohammed Salah.

Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City and Belgium)
The midfielder is among the three nominated for the third consecutive season. He was named Premier League Player of the Season after guiding City to another domestic title, his fourth in seven seasons with the English club.

The rest of the top 15 players
4 Robert Lewandowski (Bayern, now at Barcelona, ​​and Poland) – 54 points
5 Luka Modrić (Real Madrid and Croatia) – 52 points
6 Sadio Mané (Liverpool, now at Bayern, and Senegal) – 51 points
7 Mohamed Salah (Liverpool and Egypt) – 46 points
8 Kylian Mbappé (Paris and France) – 25 points
9 Vinícius Junior (Real Madrid and Brazil) – 21 points
10 Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool and Netherlands) – 19 points
11 Bernardo Silva (Manchester City and Portugal) – 7 points
12 Filip Kostić (Eintracht Frankfurt and Serbia) – 7 points
13 Lorenzo Pellegrini (Rome and Italy) – 5 points
14 Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool and England) – 2 points
15 Fabinho (Liverpool and Brazil) – 1 point

What is the UEFA Player of the Year award?

For this award, players in Europe, regardless of their nationality, were voted on based on their performances throughout the season in all competitions, both national and international, at both club and national team level.

How have the players been nominated?

UEFA’s technical study group drew up an initial list of 15 players.

The list of three nominees was selected by a jury composed of:

• The clubs that participated in the group stage of the UEFA Champions League, UEFA Europa League and UEFA Europa Conference League 2021/22.
• A group of journalists selected by the European Sports Media (ESM)

The jury members chose their three best players, the first receiving five points, the second three and the third one. Coaches were not allowed to vote for players from their own team.

Download the Champions League app

The other award nominees

UEFA Men’s Football Coach of the Year: Carlo Ancelotti, Josep Guardiola, Jürgen Klopp

Last year’s winner

Jorginho won the 2020/21 UEFA Player of the Year award after becoming the tenth player to win the European Cup and EURO in the same year. The midfielder helped Chelsea to UEFA Champions League glory with his ability to direct the game and Roberto Mancini took notice, making him the linchpin of Italy’s EURO 2020 winning side.

About the author


Leave a Comment